Google Reviews

Elenor Whitman

May 2016

5 Stars


You know I never do reviews, so when the owner (I believe his name is Frank) asked me for one, at first I was hesitant to do it.  Then I thought about how much I relied on reviews and my personal experiences dealing with two different coin stores.  So I wanted to share my experiences hoping it would help other people avoid the headache of getting comparable prices.  I have had these coins for over 9 years.  Several years ago I had a local coin store write me up an offer.  I still had that in writing.  That coin store had gone out of business.  So I called the store that does all of the advertising in Bellevue.  It sounded like a great deal, however based on how American Coin answered my questions and their great reviews, I decided to take my coins and gold jewelry to American Rare Coin & Gold in Olympia.  The owner was very organized.  He layer out all my items.  He then explained how it worked and answered all my questions.  Frank took his time and wrote everything down.  He looked at each coin.  He said he was looking for rare dates and wouldn't you know it, he found a 1913-S Quarter that he offered me $2000 for.  You can just imagine how shocked I was especially when you consider the coin store that did the first appraisal didn't tell me about this 1913 quarter.  I told him I wanted a day or two to think about it.  I wanted to show my husband.  I felt relieved when Frank politely helped me put my coins back in my boxes.  I felt horrible at first, not selling at the tie, but the people at American Rare Coin are just the best you could ask for.  Selling these coins had always been an emotional issue for me.  I was always so worried about getting ripped off or lied to.  This company was great in every regard and I would recommend them to anyone that wanted to know about selling their old coins and jewelry.

 


Chase Patton

June 2016

5 Stars


American Rare Coin & Gold Jewelry is run with honesty, is knowledgeable, and has great care for customer experience. I've traveled to multiple coin/collectible shops in the Puget Sound area. I won't name names on here as I have learned the hard way but I will say this. I spend my money where I know I'm being treated with honesty. I start at American Rare Coins when looking to add to my collection. I'd recommend them to anyone looking to purchase collectible currency or selling gold and silver coins and jewelry. 



Tiffany Marvin

October 2018

5 Stars

I have been a customer of Frank's for almost 3 years now. From my experience he is the most fair and knowledgeable on precious metals and coins that I found in our area. He is always available and very easy to work with. I would highly recommend this business



Tiffany Karpavicius

September 2018

5 Stars

I've sold old jewelry a few times and Frank is always extremely friendly and helpful!  I would highly recommend him.



James Johnson

September 2018

5 Stars

I have been buying and selling coins for over 20 years and this is the best place I have ever worked with.  Frank has earned my loyalty and business!



Samantha Murray

August 2018

5 Stars

Excellent service, Frank really helped me out a lot! Not only that he was very patient with my boy who wanted to touch everything lol can’t thank him enough for what he did!



Beene Hendricks

August 2018

5 Stars

From the very first time I walked through the doors of American Rare Coin and Gold I knew I had found something special. The warm & welcoming, zero pressure atmosphere immediately put me at ease, which is so very helpful when one is dealing with the matter of determining the value of (and possibly selling) their items of often great sentimental importance. I have come back here time and time again and each time I am again delighted at the service I receive. If you have gold or silver to sell or coins you are interested in learning more about, I would highly recommend you come see Frank Kuhn at American Rare Coin and Gold. No other stops necessary! This is the only place you want to be!



Kellen Mangan

April 2018

5 Stars

I am an avid coin and bullion investor.  I have been in every coin store in the south sound region, spending hours looking for rare coins.

I probably wouldn't even write this review hadn't it been for major differences I see between American Rare Coin and all its competitors. Being a business owner myself I am very aware of customer service issues.

I've seen people wait for over an hour just to find out they didn't have anything of value at all.  Frank greets everyone and finds out what they have within a few minutes, even when he is taking care of customers.

I see people standing at a counter for hours with all their coins laid out.  As you can imagine with hundreds of coins you attract everyone in the store asking questions, etc.

At American Rare Coin Frank does things entirely different.  First he has a private room where people can sit, relax and ask questions.  He puts all the coins to the side and looks up each one to make sure he gets the best price.

I have no doubt that Frank's prices are the best.  I have personally talked to several of these customers after they've been paid.  Everyone has told me Frank's offer was a lot more than the competition.

I personally buy all my bullion & coins from American Rare Coin because of the prices, selection, and service.



George Sanate

March 2018

5 Stars

My wife and I have been going to Frank for the better of two years.  Not only has he worked with us on jewelry but gave us the best prices on Sports memorabilia and collectables. He's always been great to us every time we see him. No waiting around, no B.S.. just friendly business! I suggest going to Frank over anyone else in Olympia!



Glen Cosby

February 2018

5 Stars 

The only store in Olympia that had what we wanted.  Spent extra time with my wife helping and advising.  Great guy and business.



Juan Maldonado

January 2018

5 Stars

Always come in to see mister frank.  I first asked around and he offered the better value for my gold.  And for anyone interested in some silver, he has a huge collection.  Great service.  Thank you rate coin.



Clover Daily

July 2017

5 Stars

After talking to Frank, I went to three other stores trying to sell my jewelry.  I ended up coming back to American Rare Coin because they had the best prices by far.  What a great place!



Shooters' Grow & Show

June 2017

5 Stars

My wife Lisa and I have used American Rare coin & gold for the last couple of years, and we've found that with Frank we get Top Shelf service and guidance with all of our precious metal needs!  Thank You so much!!



WickedQueenAvice

June 2017

5 Stars

Frank was fantastic! Very honest, patient and gave me an appraisal on my family’s silver jewelry free of charge. Very knowledgeable and fairly priced, will definitely return!



ibeginurda

May 2017

5 Stars

Best prices for coins and gold and silver, the owner was friendly and courteous explaining the pricing of my stuff.



Lara Williams

April 2017

5 Stars

This is definitely the best place to sell gold, coins, and other things. They are very fair, honest, and kind here. I'm very grateful for their help, honesty, and kindness. I highly recommend coming here to sell your gold, coins, silver, etc. 



Mark Crumb

March 2017

5 Stars

I've had several transactions with American Rare Coin & all of which i came out on top selling my precious metals. I live in Renton and drive over an hour to do business with these guys because I know I can trust them. Frank is great and it feels like you're doing business with your neighbor. I will continue to do business with them in the future and strongly recommend them for selling or buying precious metals.



Bailey Reite

January 2017

5 Stars

I had to sell some coins that we inherited as part of an estate. I've never dealt with buying or selling silver and rare coins so I was worried that I'd feel taken for a fool, but my experience here was great! 

They were straightforward in their pricing and broke it down for me. They will show you exactly what things are selling for so you can feel good about what they're paying. 

I walked away with more than I expected and will take anything I need to sell in the future to this establishment.



Pedro Medina

January 2017

5 Stars

I had done some research and based on reviews I decided to take my gold here. I was not didisappointed.  First,  I am not familiar with the area and I kept losing my GPS signal.   I called from the parking lot of five guys to get directions   instead of directions, the owner actually drove to where I was so I could follow him back!  Then Smith looked at what I had, talked me through the whole process of what he was doing and offered me close to twice as much as I thought.  I would recommend to anyone needing to sell old gold to take the time and do some research  then go see the people here.



Eduardo Patrice

October 2016

5 Stars

I don’t do reviews often unless I find something extremely good that I feel worth sharing with other people.

I am a new collector in coins. Recently, I have been going to coin shows and shops to look for good quality and priced coins – I mean I was looking for DEALS. But most of the places I went were either priced too high, or the quality was not satisfactory when the price was acceptable. So I searched outside of my area (Bellevue), and found this American Rare Coin & Gold in Olympia. I had a second thought before going since it is so far away from Bellevue. However, it has super good reviews on Yelp and Google – more importantly they answered customers’ reviews. To me – this is awesome that they care what their customers think. So I decided to go there with my girlfriend. 

We were there after a little over 1 hour drive. The owner, Frank greeted us when we walked in. We told him that we wanted to buy some collectible coins. He then showed us different coins that he had for sale – junk silver, Peace Dollar, Walking Liberty, Carlson City etc. Since I am new to coin collecting, I asked Frank so many questions. And he answered them all with patience and caring, and showed a ton of knowledge in the field. He also helped us looked things up from his books and eBay so that we can compare redbook and market prices. I learned so much! I really enjoyed this learning experience since I am still new. And I don’t like to be rush or anything. I spent almost 2.5 hours there and purchased a bunch of high quality and excellent priced coins! The deal that I got was AMAZING, even better than bidding on eBay. 

I went back 3 weeks in a row after my first visit – basically 2 hours drives both ways each time (you can tell how much I LOVE this place). Since inventory there is so different each time, I always find something new and interesting. It not only expand my knowledge lever on coins, but also increase the variety of my collections! I would definitely recommend American Rare Coin & Gold/Frank if you are looking to buy some nice coins!



Jeremy Wysuph

July 2016

5 Stars

Great place to sell any old gold or other items. I have been here a handfull of times and always left happy not feeling like i was just taken advantage of. The owner is very freindly and courtious. I will definatly return in the future and recommend them to anyone looking to sell any unwanted gold